3 EZ PZ Self Care Happy Beats When the Forecast ain’t nothing but the Blues

 

Mindfulness and the techniques I learned from jazz improvisation that my father taught me as well as using my love of literary and visual arts saved my life.  Through developing a practice over the past 25 years, I have learned to rewire my mind through neuroplasticity techniques so that I am not stuck in “Victim” mode feeling more helpless than I did before I received the diagnosis.  I realized that it would have been ideal if there was a Mindfulness meditative or visualization that was introduced in order to start thinking and building a practice that you have control over and will give relief from the stresses of the treatment, but it allows you to be an active participant in your life.  Once the body was taken care of, they give me a big ass smile and a slap on the back telling me that you are all set.  We have saved your life, now, the rest is up to you.  Now, if you have the ideal situation, you know, this whole cancer business is just a dream and I am cured so I can go back to what I was doing.  That is not true in my case.  And beause I am so damn good at taking care of my self, pampering and doing things that before the diagnosis I thought was decadent.

Here are three mindfulness improvisation self care tips that will leave bad habits in the dust and shed light into your life bringing you to your very special happy place.

Here is one of my Happiest Beats from my childhood…

If you follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. Wherever you are — if you are following your bliss, you are enjoying that refreshment, that life within you, all the time. ~ Joseph Campbell

Mindfulness is your portal to be present in your daily life. For me mindfulness in concert with techniques from jazz improvisation is a way for me to live creatively in the moment and not emotionally reacting to everything  and everyone. When we live in the present it allows us to let go of the pain of the past and the worries or expectations of the future so we can focus on what we have now. It is not a matter of denial or I will be happy with a million bucks or all of my bills are paid because the price of living is that bills will always be there.  There will always be an expense for living.  Finding gratitude for the things we do, even the smallest thing gives me a sense of peace.  Worry over being able to meet our daily lives takes us out of ourselves and life, then seems like an uphill battle and we lose sight of the present moment.  We get caught up and eventually will disappear from our lives.  Mindfulness gives you the choice of what to focus on and redirects the mind to stop letting the past shape and distort the future and lose the present moment.  You no longer dwell on things you cannot change and rely and react emotionally to them which can be quite exhausting. One of the biggest perks of mindfulness is that you can minimize anxiety and stress. Living in the moment and creatively brings more joy, clarity, wellness and energy.

The best way to cultivate mindfulness is through meditation   So how can you do this?  When you  meditate you can  detach yourself and become a witness or an observer and it will release you to explore ways that work for you.  Now it takes a whole lot of practice and finding a different perspective to help you to find your happy quiet space between those thoughts. You quiet your ego driven, obsessive thinking (“monkey mind”, and start responding instinctively. Meditation allows you to relax and to listen to your inner spirit that will allow your thoughts to detach and flow. This is the Happy Place, where you begin awakening and manifesting your dreams.  You are now in touch with who you really are; with what matters most to you as well as becomes your way of improvising on life  so you face adversity and the challenges in your daily routine imparting your own style.

Here are three mindfulness improvisation tips for self care that will leave bad habits in the dust and shed light into your life bringing you to your very special happy place.

#1: . Get Your Mind into it:  Mindfulness Meditation 

When I started 20 years ago I began  with ten, then fifteen minute meditation twice a day.  First thing in the morning and then again in the evening at the end of your day.   Here is one of my favorites.

Mindfulness Meditation – Quick 15 Min Stress Relief Version

If you want to fold it into your daily routine begin with eating a healthy, balanced diet that would include fresh organic food.  Or how about a walking meditation or yoga class to help you to connect with your body that helps you to center yourself, and find balance?   The benefits are a good night’s sleep that will rejuvenate and detoxify your mind and body.

#2: Taking Good Care of Yourself

Your objective ~ to connect with those things that truly make you happy. Target that thing, place, or activity that creates space every day.  This is not negotiable and a top priority.  A total Ah Ha! Moment!

Block out time in your day—take five minutes or an hour — start with a time frame you are most comfortable with.  Do something you love. Listen to music, read a good book, sit in silence by the water or a fire, or even try dancing in your bare feet in the living room. Give yourself a star on your calendar every time you do it. Believe me, you will feel more inspired and creative.

#3:   Flow with an Attitude of Gratitude

You can start by counting your blessings!  This lets you realize how good your life truly is and connects you with the abundance in your life.  I have found that it attracts more prosperity and is way more rewarding.. Surround yourself with what you think is beautiful, and be grateful for it in your home, your work space, your clothes, I think you get the picture.

I love to take this time and combine it with my nightly 15 minute mindfulness meditation routine just before bed.  It is a perfect way to open your heart and to dream beautiful dreams.  Mind you, I am no spring chicken and that it does not happen overnight.  I am also a late bloomer so some folks get right away and then there are folks like me that work at it until it takes hold and opens your heart and life to the wonders and joy of life’s possibility.  Give it a go.  Peace and love out!

Copyright © 2016 by JM Fuller/Jannat Marie/Jazzybeatchick/. All rights Reserved.

This material has been copyrighted, feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks or added to websites; please do not change the original content and please provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name or visual artist @ https://isurvivorchick.wordpress.com/.  Readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance for any or all of this content.

2 thoughts on “3 EZ PZ Self Care Happy Beats When the Forecast ain’t nothing but the Blues”

  1. Had to sell my tenor as I couldn’t play it from a wheelchair and cervical arthritis prevents a sling around my neck but I’m currently glueing a strip of velcro to the bows of my alto and soprano so they’ll stick on my knee! Heddwch. Mike.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that’s what I’m talking about. I have been a Survivor since 1990 when I got GBS which a wheelchair became my mode of movement for two long months through the Holidays experience. I feel that Survivors should be empowered to live life with all of the additional dukkhas that in my case cancer and a neuropathy that are of their chosing because the Survivors know what they need and want. So hang tough and keep sharing, you definitely inspired me! J

      Like

Share Your Thoughts & Insights....

